MY turn to feel terrible this morning. It's hot all through the night and I get little sleep which leaves me feeling pretty bad. Gradually I get my self together and we're off to the Osaka Aquarium
. We're looking for the giant crab (not as giant as we thought) and the whale shark (we see it and don't realise what it is until we are leaving) which tells us we should read the signs more. Any way the Emperor Penguins are impressive and some of the fish look amazing but none more so than the jellyfish we are hypnotising. At the end we go to the fish petting zoo. We touch the fish. Huge stingrays and all. Strange experience.I feel odd patting them.We decide to jump on the bullet train to Kobe to go and see the huge statue of Gigantor. Probably would have been easier to take the normal train because we have to catch a subway after we get to Shin-Osaka. The again the bullet only takes 13 minutes.
Gigantor is pretty spectacular. A huge statue built to ward off the evil of earthquakes after the huge one in Kobe in 1995. Gigantor was one of the cartoon series I grew up with in the sixties. That and a host of other Japanese cartoons and of course Shintaro the samurai.
A walk around Kobe doesn't reveal much so we head back to Osaka on a normal train and head back to Shinsebashi for dinner. For some reason we go for Burritos. Was not that great although Liz liked hers.
We're worn out so head back to the apartment. That old refrain "we're going to need a holiday to get over this holiday" comes up. And it's true. We've done a lot. But there is so much to do in Japan it's crazy.
No comments:
Post a Comment